Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: will autocad 2000 run on other operating systems?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    50

    will autocad 2000 run on other operating systems?

    I've posted a similar question and have gotten no replies. So I thought I might ask in a different way. I am currently running AutoCAD 2000 with Windows XP. I have tried running with Vista but it would not work. Has anyone tried running on Windows 7? Or other?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    It might work but you will either have to use XP Mode or run another piece of software called LongBow.
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    50
    interesting stuff, thanks for the info

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    167
    Take a look here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/

    You can run "Windows XP Mode" or download Virtual PC and use a "Virtual Machine". This way you can run Windows XP "inside" of Windows 7. It works very well actually. My home PC is a friggin' piece now that it's 4 years old and I have a Windows XP virtual machine that works just fine for some of my older software. Also good to test files for virus' before installing into your main Windows.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    50

    windows 8

    I recently installed 2000i LDD on windows 8. I did run into a few prompts stating it couldn't find or recognize this or that and should I ignore or abort. I just pushed through the flack and when all was done 2000i LDD seemed to run just fine even without using the compatability check boxes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    LaFayette, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4
    I use the virtual machine with XP and it usually works fine behind Windows 7. I'm having issues with the copy/paste and copy as block options though. Any ideas?

    Susan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    50

    hi susan

    Quote Originally Posted by Susan B. Elliott View Post
    I use the virtual machine with XP and it usually works fine behind Windows 7. I'm having issues with the copy/paste and copy as block options though. Any ideas?

    Susan
    I may not be able to offer any advice on Windows 7. However Windows 8 has proved to be seamless in running 2000i and 2004 LDD so far and with no virtual anything, just bare bones, yeah!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    Seamless? Not from what I've read. There would be problems running Express Tools in 2000i because they were written using 16-bit code which won't run on a 64-bit system.
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

Similar Threads

  1. version 2i with LDD and a Windows 7 operating system?
    By garalare in forum AutoCAD 2000/2000i Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29-07-2012, 05:14 PM
  2. Electronic Security Systems Installation
    By rod_smithsr in forum AutoCAD 2012 Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 07:34 PM
  3. Opening AutoCAD 2000 drawing in AutoCAD 14
    By setchmo in forum AutoCAD 14 Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-07-2011, 09:27 PM
  4. Autocad 2000 connectivity to MS Access 2000
    By kayzin in forum Miscellaneous Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2004, 03:01 PM
  5. Building Systems 2005
    By MarauderX in forum AutoCAD 2005 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-06-2004, 08:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •