Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: BLOCK ATTRIBUTES

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    BLOCK ATTRIBUTES

    I am trying to make an attribute table for a block but i don't know how to attach the table to the block. Help required please.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    Creating attributes and combining them with an object as a block is pretty straight-forward. I'm not sure if I understand what you are asking though re: attribute "table". Did you create an actual "table" in AutoCAD that you want to combine with an object to create a block?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4
    Kyle,
    What I want to do is attach more than one attribute to a block and maybe create a template file for recording this data.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    OK...I see. You can have more than one attribute associated with a block. And there are ways to extract the data as well.
    So you have never created a block with more than one attribute?
    What field do you work in (architectural, civil, structural, electrical, other)? Can you give us an example of one of the types of blocks you would be attaching attributes to?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4
    Kyle,
    I am a mechanical engineer.
    I was trying to create a simple block of maybe a welded plate with weld nuts and I wanted to attach attributes about things like , type of material, weld nut size, total cost etc.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    If you have already created your blocks then create your attributes next. Once that is done create a new "nested" block (original block plus all your attributes).
    If you have not created your blocks yet you can create, for example, welded plate #1, add your attributes then make a block out of everything.

    I've attached a drawing (2004 file format) of a sample block with attributes). Type INSERT at the command line then go from there. The block name is Weld Plate 1. Watch the command line.

    Attribute example.dwg
    Last edited by Kyle Reese; 09-03-2011 at 01:32 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4
    Kyle,

    Thanks for this, its been a great help, I will be forever in your debt.
    Best wishes Robert

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    Quote Originally Posted by RobF View Post
    Kyle,

    Thanks for this, its been a great help, I will be forever in your debt.
    Best wishes Robert
    No problemo' dude. If you have any further questions just ask. Someone here is bound to have an answer.

Similar Threads

  1. Block attributes
    By Kio in forum Open CAD Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 03:09 AM
  2. block attributes
    By nick bessey in forum AutoCAD 2005 Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-04-2007, 01:08 AM
  3. block attributes to a table
    By fabricf in forum Open CAD Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 06:42 PM
  4. Block Attributes with flyouts
    By ~Dramatic~Details~ in forum Wish List for the Next AutoCAD Release
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-12-2006, 12:55 PM
  5. Block Attributes
    By mabroadb in forum VBA for Beginners
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25-02-2005, 10:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •