Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Lineweights Not Plotting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Lineweights Not Plotting

    Hello, I have a drawing that won't print with the different lineweights from my plot style table. I've been using the same plot style table that I always use. I keep comparing the plot window, plot style table and the page set-up manager window with another drawing that is printing correctly but nothing seems to be clicked incorrectly. I have the "plot with plot styles" checked in both the plot and page set-up windows. I'm sure I am missing something stupid! Does anyone have a suggestion?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,772
    Has the drawing been set up to use an STB rather than a CTB?

    If so then try using convertpstyles to change to using your CTB.
    Im intelligent enough to know that I dont know everything; but I'll tell you all about it anyway.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    1,122
    Do you have the "Scale Lineweights" box ticked?
    One of these days I gotta get myself organizized

    My Online Portfolio ( Updated 08/06/2012 ): www.rdeweese.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3
    Both drawings are set to CTB and both have the "Scale Lineweights" unclicked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Lineweight Issue

    I still can't get the lines to print with their proper lineweights. Everything prints as the same lineweight.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,772
    I would check the settings in your .ctb file.

    If you open it in FORM view, take a screenshot (press 'Alt+Prt Scr' then paste into word), and attach this screenshot to your next post we can take a look at it for you and spot if there are any problems there.
    Im intelligent enough to know that I dont know everything; but I'll tell you all about it anyway.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1

    Check Objects

    Had the same problem and it was a simple solution for me.
    Check two things:
    1: in modelspace with no objects selected, look at your properties window (attached or detached) and you will see the default lineweight. It should be "bylayer". If not, set it to this or everything you create beyond that point won't adopt the lineweight of it's layer (provided you are controlling lineweights by layer).

    2: Highlight the objects that are not plotting their proper lineweights. Look at your properties window again, if anything besides "bylayer" shows up in the lineweight box, you won't get the proper lineweights. Choose the "bylayer option for all the objects you want to plot with lineweights from your layer settings.

    Worked for me. you may want to change this setting in any custom Templates you have created as well, but that is a different story, for a different thread.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    I sure hope the OP got it all figured out by now. Three years is a long time. LoL
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Fife
    Posts
    13
    Hi. I have been having problems with lineweights for ages but I had a work around, now that has stopped working.

    I have been using the same ctb file for years - many years - and it always worked perfectly. However suddenly all normal lines started plotting really thin and feint - polylines are OK.

    I have tried changing the default lineweight to really thick, but nothing changes - is there a default somewhere that overrides the "lwdefault"?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,772
    Hi mike,

    This forum is no longer active and new registrations have been blocked for a couple of years now.

    I suggest that you ask your question over at https://www.cadtutor.net/forum/
    You'll find most of the old regulars from here are still active over there, some still using the same usernames.
    Im intelligent enough to know that I dont know everything; but I'll tell you all about it anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •