Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help - newbie alert!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    2

    Help - newbie alert!!

    Hi

    I am obviously really new to Autocad and only have a 2016 trail version at the moment.

    However I am having trouble viewing my designs in the layout tab. The designs in the model tab have been drawing in a white colour and for some reason are not showing in the layout tab. If I change the model colour to black or any other colour, they appear in the layout tab.

    Help!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    Did you make any changes via Options > Display > Colors?
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    When you are in a layout is the Color option set to ByLayer?
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle Reese View Post
    When you are in a layout is the Color option set to ByLayer?
    Hi Kyle

    Thanks for getting back to me and after looking on line for some videos I found one that showed me how to change the colour options, however this was after the issues of not seeing the drawing on the layout tab.

    As mentioned before the model tab is on a black background with white lines and previously when I opened up the layout tab, it automatically showed the drawings on a white background and black lines. I now have to change the colour of the lines on the model tab to grey or black in order for me to see the drawings on the layout tab.

    Again, help!! and thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    The default settings are black background/white lines for model space and the opposite for a paper space layout utilizing a viewport. If you have anything different you either changed it via the Options command or you decided to override the color 'ByLayer' option in your layout. I can't think of any other reasons that would account for what you are seeing and I know for a fact that AutoCAD doesn't go and change these things of its own free will; it takes user input.
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

Similar Threads

  1. Strong Virus alert message in Autocad 2007 - 2011
    By Cambodia in forum AutoCAD 2011 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 10:54 AM
  2. Newbie needing help
    By Bob3rd1 in forum AutoCAD 2006 Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2010, 08:14 AM
  3. Newbie needs help
    By ukdodger in forum AutoCAD 2004 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-08-2008, 05:21 PM
  4. The Absolute VBA newbie needs you....!
    By wardyboi in forum VBA for Beginners
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-07-2004, 12:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •