Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Need R14 ADI Drivers for GTCO CalComp DrawingBoard VI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    2

    Need R14 ADI Drivers for GTCO CalComp DrawingBoard VI

    My 88 year-old father wants to use his old AutoCAD R14.01 with his Drawing Board VI Digitizer. He has a 16 button puck and custom menus defined. I have all his custom files in the SUPPORT directory.

    I have successfully installed R14 in Windows 7.0 XPMODE using a USB to RS-232 emulation software. I have the GTCO CalComp TabletWorks v.10.09 installed and it is recognizing the tablet but there is no ADI driver in the pointer configuration inside AutoCAD. I have tried the WinTab v.4.1 (I think it is 4.1) but that does not work.

    Does anyone out there have the R14 ADI drivers for his digitizer?

    I used to be a CAD administrator from R10-R14 but it has been over a decade so I could use a brief instructions on how to install the ADI drivers.

    Any help would be most appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Jody

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,836
    AutoCAD R13 and R14 for Windows will require the use of the appropriate CalComp WinTAB driver but do not require any additional drivers. Configuration is as follows:

    1. Select the "Pointer" tab.
    2. Select "WinTAB Compatible Digitizer ADI 4.2 - by AutoDesk".
    3. Make sure the "Digitizer and Mouse" radio button is selected.
    4. Select the "Set Current" button next to the list of drivers.
    5. Select the "OK" button to accept the changes and return to the
    drawing editor.
    Last edited by Kyle Reese; 02-11-2015 at 06:15 PM.
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,787
    Phew, r14.01 is at least 17 years old now.

    I have never tried to use a digitizer with Autocad, but is this link of any help?
    http://www.vectortec.com/autocad_tablet.htm

    The latest Calcomp drivers can be found here:
    http://www.gtcocalcomp.com/downloads

    Also there seem to be some Calcomp ADI drivers here but dont know if they would work with XPmode in Win7.
    http://www.freecadapps.com/swcategor...1&orgvalue=ACG

    TBH I'm not sure that you will be able to get the digitizer to work with an ADI driver under this setup, I came across this snippet
    You can not use a WinTab driver in Windows and the corresponding ADI driver for your digitizer in AutoCad. When you try to configure AutoCad for the ADI driver you will get the following error message:
    The operating system detected the following error on com(x). Digitizer disabled.
    from here:
    http://origin-www.geniusnet.com/Geni...ctNode=86&mp=1

    Best of luck.
    Last edited by NukeCad; 02-11-2015 at 06:51 PM.
    Im intelligent enough to know that I dont know everything; but I'll tell you all about it anyway.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks so much NukeCad

    There seems to be some promising possibilities. I'll post my outcome.

    Thanks again
    Jody

Similar Threads

  1. Problems Interfacing GTCO CalComp Digitizer with AutoCAD 2012LT
    By halojumper52 in forum AutoCAD 2012 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-02-2014, 01:06 PM
  2. need a calcomp 5636 720c plotter guru
    By kenny1984cj7 in forum Screens, Mice, Plotters etc
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 10:17 PM
  3. EPS drivers please :D
    By Gizbo in forum AutoCAD 2004 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-09-2006, 07:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •