Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Not opening AutoCad files on Windows XP, Windows cannot find %path%\filename.dwg"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    1

    Not opening AutoCad files on Windows XP, Windows cannot find %path%\filename.dwg"

    Windows XP SP2 - AutoCad 2005 LT
    When double clicking on an Autocad File I get the massage Windows cannot find %path%\filename.dwg. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again. To search for a file, click the Start button, and then click Search.
    Searching in AutoDesks site I found out that all AutoCad Versions since 2000 have this problem, thou there are solutions for this problem for all versions there is nothing for 2005 LT.
    Does anybody know how to solve this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,799
    Although the solutions given on the Autodesk site don't always refer to older versions this is merely because the version is out of support date.
    The solutions are often/usually still valid for the older versions.

    Firstly, did you try the suggestions given on the autodesk site to reassociate .dwg files?
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...n-Windows.html

    Drawings should be associated to open with AcLauncher.exe and not with the Acad.exe itself.

    If that still doesn't work then check the following-
    Are the drawings you are trying to open by double clicking stored on a network drive? (i.e. not locally on your PC).
    There can be an issue with double click opening if they are on a networked drive.
    (It could well be that associating the drawing files with AcLauncher.exe soves this as well).

    Try saving the drawing to your PC rather than the network, and see if you can double click it from there.
    If you can then that shows it is a network issue and you need to get your IT guys to check your network permissions and access.

    EDIT- Also take a look at these articles if your problem is with a networked drive:
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...s-AutoCAD.html
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...rk-drives.html


    Just as an aside, you do realise that opening a drawing in this way opens a new instance of Autocad for each drawing, rather than having multiple drawings open in the same AutoCad instance?
    (Nothing particularly wrong with this, I myself prefer to use single drawing mode, just pointing it out).
    Last edited by NukeCad; 02-11-2015 at 11:47 AM.
    Im intelligent enough to know that I dont know everything; but I'll tell you all about it anyway.

Similar Threads

  1. How can I get Autocad 2000 to run with Windows 7
    By Rob Mosedale in forum AutoCAD 2000/2000i Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-01-2011, 07:35 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-09-2010, 09:33 AM
  3. Will AutoCAD 2004 run on Windows 2000?
    By CADaver in forum AutoCAD 2004 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-12-2004, 09:43 AM
  4. Loading AutoCad 13 onto a new computer with Windows XP Pro
    By Rodney in forum Screens, Mice, Plotters etc
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2004, 09:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •