PDA

View Full Version : Using Autocad 2012 on an AMD E-350 processor.



GatorKountry
28-07-2011, 11:26 AM
Hello, I'm new to this forum and have been using AutoCad (versions 2007, 2008) for about 5 years now and have decided to start using 2012 version but want to install it on a new laptop for portability to construction sites. I was looking at the Thinkpad X120e with the AMD E-350 processor and was curious if anyone here at AutoCad Everything has or is using this type of set-up and if the AMD E-350 is capable of handling AutoCad 2012?
Thank you.

Kyle Reese
28-07-2011, 05:38 PM
Hardware specs for running AutoCAD 2012 can be found at the AutoDesk website. Remember...the specs are the MINIMUM recommended. Use them as the starting point for your computer hardware configuration. More is always better.

GatorKountry
28-07-2011, 09:49 PM
Thank you, I checked out AutoDesk's website for the AutoCad 2012 and it's hard to determine what they recommend for the 64 bit version. Here is what they recommend:
"AMD Athlon 64 with SSE2 technology, AMD OpteronŽ processor with SSE2 technology, IntelŽ XeonŽ processor with Intel EM64T support and SSE2 technology, or Intel Pentium 4 with Intel EM64T support and SSE2 technology."
I wish they would at least put in a minimum processor size for AMD and Intel.

Kyle Reese
29-07-2011, 09:41 AM
Did you research AMD Opteron processors and determine which offer SSE2 technology? I'd go with one of the dual-core 2.5GHz chips unless you'll be doing a lot of renderings in which case I'd look at a quad-core version.

Kyle Reese
29-07-2011, 10:17 AM
You are aware that the clock speed on the AMD E-350 is 1.6GHz right? From what I gather this CPU is not very fast. I think running AutoCAD 2012 on a system configured around this CPU would be a mistake. Unless of course you like torturing yourself.

On the plus side the E-350 has lower power consumption and good GPU performance. If I were you I'd pass on this computer, save some more money and buy something better that you won't regret having purchased a week after doing so. Just my opinion. Feel free to ignore it.

GatorKountry
29-07-2011, 11:18 AM
Thank you Kyle Reese, I will look into your recommendations. I thought that was to slow (1.6ghz) but I did hear one other person say in a Google search that it worked efficiently on their Thinkpad X120e and I just wanted to get some more opinions before deciding.

Kyle Reese
29-07-2011, 11:27 AM
It all depends on what software you plan on running. AutoCAD 2012 is no lightweight program. And if you decide that you have had enough of working in 2D and what to move to working more in 3D you could experience some real performance problems.