Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Calculate area of buildings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3

    Calculate area of buildings

    Hello list
    I am new to Autocad. I have some plans of buildings and I would like to calculate their area(m^2). However, I don't have their dimensions; I only have the scale of each plan.
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,305
    One option would be to trace the perimeter of the building using a single continuous polyline. Then use the AREA command. AutoCAD will prompt you to Select first corner point or [Object / Add / Subtract]: Type the letter "O" for the Object option then when prompted next to select objects pick the polylined outline of your building. AutoCAD will display the Area and the Perimeter of the building.

    Another option would be to use the Hatch command but it's been a while since I've used the technique so I'd have to refamiliarize myself with the procedure.

    I'm sure someone else will tell you how to do it before I return with the answer. If not then I'll post a solution.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,305
    Now I remember. Start the Hatch command and use the Add: Pick points option (upper right-hand corner of Hatch and Gradient dialog box). Pick inside the building itself. Press Enter. I'd go with a User defined hatch pattern with an angle of 45 deg and a spacing of 10'. Click the OK button. Your building should now be hatched. Type LI (for List) at the command line. Press Enter. Select the hatch pattern. The AutoCAD Text window should appear onscreen. The area of the building should be listed in the second line up from the bottom just above the line for Origin.

    There's probably a third way to get the area but I'm at a loss to come up with it at the moment.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    command: DI - is for DISTANCE

    Quote Originally Posted by vassilis View Post
    Hello list
    I am new to Autocad. I have some plans of buildings and I would like to calculate their area(m^2). However, I don't have their dimensions; I only have the scale of each plan.
    Any ideas?
    Pick one end of the line representing the interior wall and then pick the other end of the same wall where it joins perpendicular to the adjacent wall. This will give you the distance or length of the wall. Do the same for the wall perpendicular to the first wall. Now that you have the distance of each wall, multiply them by each other to give you the square area of the inside of the building. If you want the total square area then do the above procedure with the outside wall of the building.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thank you all for your replies.
    But the only data I have is an IMAGE of the building without any information for the dimensions of walls.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,305
    You know, it's always a good thing to provide as much information as you possibly can when you post a question. The fact that all you have is an image and not an AutoCAD drawing files DOES make a difference.

    You can get the image into AutoCAD using the IMAGEATTACH command. But there is one problem. You need to have at least one dimension between two points in order to proceed any further. I see there is a scale bar on the image. Tell me, what is the scale?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Is a graphical scale bar from zero to twenty meters 0 -20m

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,305
    I kind of got that impression. Is it 1cm=20m or could it be 1cm=5m? You need to measure one wall so you know how long it is.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    10
    Yes you can scale images, but watch out cause it won´t be that accurate.

Similar Threads

  1. area calculation
    By GaryBradstreet in forum AutoCAD 2002 Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-09-2009, 06:27 PM
  2. compute area
    By redgreen in forum Open CAD Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-03-2008, 06:14 PM
  3. area problem
    By allen446 in forum AutoCAD 2002 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-03-2006, 09:57 AM
  4. Area tabulation
    By jbear0000 in forum AutoCAD 2005 Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-01-2006, 04:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •