Thread: Steel Bar Joist Blocks

Steel Bar Joist Blocks

Does anyone know of a free download for a steel bar joist block?

Since bar joists can come in many different sizes can you be a bit more specific?

I'm assuming we are talking a 2D block right?

I'm an Architect and we just need to be able to place a joist that matches what the engineers specify. We need to provide proper clearance for ducts and equipment. I was looking thru Google for bar joist blocks. I found really good ones for REVIT, but I'm still AutoCAD. There was a nice AutoCAD one that did 2D views, had varialbes for the lower cord extensions, for the angle of the seats, for different seat types. It was a $700 program. A bit much for our occasional use. Anyone find any free ones out there?

AutoCAD 2007 I see. Then the block could be a plain old 2D generic one or a fancier Dynamic Block right?

You might try over at the AUGI Forums > AUGI Technical (English) > General Design > AutoCAD > AutoCAD Support > Dynamic Blocks - Sharing. Is that a mouthful or what? Lots of good stuff to be had. Check it out. Maybe you'll find something to suit your needs.

The only other source I can think of is the CAD Block Exchange Network. Normally they ask a user to upload a block for every one they download but I've seen that request circumvented on more than one occasion.
    Last edited by Kyle Reese; 08-10-2010 at 06:47 PM.

Kyle, yes, it can be a Dynamic Block. I love to create them, but it is time consuming on more complicated items. That $700 dollar program I mentioned above could be cheaper than my spending seveal days trying to create one. Still, I'm not an engineer and only need it for clearances. A Free one would be nice. Read Ya Later -KLYPH

Check out Rick Moore's Architectural - Steel Joist Elevation block at AUGI. It is awesome man!