Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Editing Multiple Blocks

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tavares, Florida
    Posts
    159

    Editing Multiple Blocks

    I have went from 2k4 to 2k9 and when I wanted to edit a block, I would just do it in the properties. Now I am trying to make multiple blocks a screened color. The block is a circle with a letter inside the circle, and a part number outside of the circle. I want to screen the whole thing to a gray, but I cannot seem to do it without doing one at a time and it is becoming tedious. Is there a way to screen everything at once? sorry if this is a dopey question, but I have tried everything except exploding the block, and I refuse to do that. Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    mad@cad's Avatar
    mad@cad is offline International Ambassador for AutoCAD Everything
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    675
    screen it
    and
    redefine?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,737
    This trick works in up to 2006, not tried it with later revs.

    Explode ONE of the blocks, change the colour and re-define it using the same name.
    (You pick the existing name from the drop down list before selecting the objects and picking the datum).

    This will change the colour of ALL blocks of the same name on the drawing without losing their already entered attribute values.

  4. #4
    mad@cad's Avatar
    mad@cad is offline International Ambassador for AutoCAD Everything
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    675
    Well i just did not feel like typing in that much detail....


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,737
    Ah; but I have the time now. I finished work 4 hours ago.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    1,179
    How about the "refedit" command, it's kind of a shortcut to the explode & redefine method.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,737
    I can never seem to get that to work properly; maybe because I have to use LT at work. (or maybe Im just being thick)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •