Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: autocad 2005 hangs at 47%

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    17

    autocad 2005 hangs at 47%

    Hi could you please help. my autocad 2005 wont go past 47% on opening the program, when tying to open a new drawing it freezes my system running XP pro,any help would be very appreciated, regards, Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,739
    Sorry for the late reply.

    Is this hanging when you are just opening Autocad on it's own, or when you click on a drawing file to open it?

    And is it with just one drawing or every drawing that you try?

    If it's just the one drawing then it would suggest that there is something wrong with that particular drawing and there are a few things we can try.

    If it's with every drawing then it would suggest that its the Autocad itself that is faulty and it may need to be repaired/restored.
    The first thing to try in that case would be to restore Autocad to the default settings and see if this cures the problem.
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...-defaults.html

    OOPs, you did say Acad 2005 in which case its a bit more difficult to reset to defaults, including a registry edit.
    Back up before doing this, it tells you how in step 2 of this guide to resetting Autocad before version 2011:

    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...r-AutoCAD.html
    Last edited by NukeCad; 22-03-2017 at 08:40 AM.
    Im intelligent enough to know that I dont know everything; but I'll tell you all about it anyway.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    17
    Hi I will try this, I have been tied up with more pressing problems,(life uh) but I will let you know how I get on, many thanks again, and its on all drawings, the system gets to 47% on start up then hangs for 20 secs then it is as if it has loaded correctly, but it has not.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,855
    I would do a REPAIR of the installation which is not the same as an uninstall/reinstall.
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    17
    I have heard that Norton anti virus caused a similar problem,I use Avast, I un-installed the whole program and It still only got to 47% but now I can open a new drawing, but only in imperial,, I change to mm, in format looks good but no luck,and still it won't save as,
    sorry for the delay my wife is sick, regards,Andy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,855
    I guess you did not try the REPAIR option then. Yes, Norton has, in the past anyway, been known to cause problems with AutoCAD as it aggressively targets .dlls in an attempt to scan for viruses that aren't really there.

    The REAPAIR option is the quickest, least intrusive thing one can do to try to get a balky AutoCAD to work properly. Next up would be the REINSTALL option followed by a complete UNINSTALL / REINSTALL which also requires the user to manually delete some folders/files. Why the hesitation?
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    452
    Did you try a recover on the drawing first?

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD hangs when choosing plotter
    By Specjre in forum AutoCAD 2011 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2011, 04:57 PM
  2. VBA run hangs AutoCAD
    By kyheulon in forum VBA for Beginners
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-09-2004, 08:11 PM
  3. AutoCAD 2005
    By YosSa in forum AutoCAD 2005 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-03-2004, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •