Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Viewport content disappears?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    12

    Viewport content disappears?

    Hi,

    My drawing keeps disappearing in the paper space, specifically in the viewports.
    I have been searching for a fix to this but haven't found any info yet.
    The way to make it reappear is to either save the drawing which somehow regenerates it, or to quickly go to model space and then come back to paper space.
    so far only these 2 functions make the viewport content reappear.
    I have to issue these CAD files to a client and don't want to run into a problem.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    (I have tried *regen* and *audit* but nothing seems to solve this problem)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails after.JPG   before.JPG  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    English Lake District
    Posts
    2,734
    I notice that in your 'before' screenshot there is an unreconciled layer notification in the bottom right.
    So presumably you have just attached or reloaded an Xref when this happens?

    Unreconciled layers may not display as you expect them to in paperspace viewports.

    This blog give a simple explanation:
    http://cadablog.blogspot.co.uk/2015/...yers-they.html
    Im intelligent enough to know that I dont know everything; but I'll tell you all about it anyway.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    12

    Reconciled layers

    Thanks for the input.
    I have reconciled all layers in the layer manager.
    Though it doesn't affect the problem.

    Any ideas on how to keep the viewports from disappearing?
    They come back when I hit save so wondering what that's about?


    Quote Originally Posted by NukeCad View Post
    I notice that in your 'before' screenshot there is an unreconciled layer notification in the bottom right.
    So presumably you have just attached or reloaded an Xref when this happens?

    Unreconciled layers may not display as you expect them to in paperspace viewports.

    This blog give a simple explanation:
    http://cadablog.blogspot.co.uk/2015/...yers-they.html

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,843
    Are your viewport displays locked?

    What is the value of MAXACTVP?
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    12
    It says 64.

    I believe that's the number of active view ports allowed?
    I don't think that's the issue but thank You.


    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle Reese View Post
    Are your viewport displays locked?

    What is the value of MAXACTVP?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,843
    Does your computer utilize an onboard graphics chip or does it have a dedicated graphics card?
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    12
    I'm using a fairly powerful laptop with a dedicated graphics card.
    I know it's recommended to use a desktop but I've had no trouble for years.

    I thought this was a file related issue however I've just opened the file on my backup desktop computer and it hasn't happened?!
    I swear I've tested it before and I recall it doing the same thing.

    Now I think it's a graphics issue. You may be close to the problem.

    Do I try to match graphics settings?


    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle Reese View Post
    Does your computer utilize an onboard graphics chip or does it have a dedicated graphics card?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,843
    What's the difference, graphics-wise, between the laptop and the desktop? I'm referring to the amount and type of vidRAM.
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East coast; 2hrs. outside of NYC
    Posts
    3,843
    A couple other questions come to mind.

    Is this a 2D or 3D drawing?

    What is the file size of the drawing? Have you cleaned the file at all using such commands as Overkill, -Purge, and Audit?
    I'm Reese. Sergeant Tech-Com, DN38416. Assigned to protect you. You've been targeted for termination.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    12
    - 2D drawing

    - The file size is 17 MB (is that too large?)
    I should mention that the XREF is 23.3 MB

    - I have run *audit* but honestly not much experience with the other commands.
    I am a designer doing CAD work, so missing a little indepth knowledge of CAD commands.

    - Video memory Laptop: NVIDIA Quadro K3100M - 4GB
    Desktop Video memory: NVIDIA GFORCE GT640 - 4 GB

    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle Reese View Post
    A couple other questions come to mind.

    Is this a 2D or 3D drawing?

    What is the file size of the drawing? Have you cleaned the file at all using such commands as Overkill, -Purge, and Audit?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Layout content copying...
    By Mitchell in forum AutoCAD 2010 Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 03:56 AM
  2. Content Browser
    By butters1414 in forum AutoCAD 2008 Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-07-2009, 11:12 PM
  3. 2007 Content
    By Paul_Cadtastic in forum AutoCAD 2007 Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-12-2007, 06:39 PM
  4. text disappears
    By CADilist in forum AutoCAD 2005 Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15-12-2007, 11:04 PM
  5. 3D Content
    By thendricks in forum AutoCAD 2004 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-06-2004, 09:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •